Error Message

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bigphem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Downloaded kodi, when i launch the application, i get an error message below

“Kodi” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash."
find quote
Karellen Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,926
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 51
Post: #2
That must be a message from either your operating system or anti-virus.

Can you provide the information listed here... https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...pid1707470 Also tell us where you downloaded from.

Also, if possible, take a screenshot of the message, upload at this site... https://imgbb.com/ then provide the link back here.

My Signature
Links to : Forum rules (wiki) | Banned_Add-ons (wiki) | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log (wiki) || Artwork (wiki) | NFO_files (wiki) | Import-Export_library (wiki)
find quote
bigphem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
downloaded from Kodi.tv

link for screen shot

https://ibb.co/d9Jqcv
find quote
Karellen Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,926
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 51
Post: #4
Ok, still need the rest of the information I asked for. Follow that first link.

My Signature
Links to : Forum rules (wiki) | Banned_Add-ons (wiki) | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log (wiki) || Artwork (wiki) | NFO_files (wiki) | Import-Export_library (wiki)
find quote
Karellen Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,926
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 51
Post: #5
Have you tried downloading again... in case the corruption occurred during the download?

My Signature
Links to : Forum rules (wiki) | Banned_Add-ons (wiki) | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log (wiki) || Artwork (wiki) | NFO_files (wiki) | Import-Export_library (wiki)
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,893
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 388
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #6
Hard to see what browser or OS you are using @bigphem.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
bigphem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Downloaded- Kodi v17.3 "Krypton" Release version
Sent a screen shot of my MacOS
Link. https://ibb.co/caQ0AF
After dragging kodi to application and i try opening the application error generated. Not sure if this is what is being asked. New to this apologies.
find quote
bigphem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
downloaded using google chrome. mac is os sierra 10.12.5. tried multiple times using different browsers
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,893
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 388
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #9
I believe you have to turn off "gatekeeper" on OSX.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
bigphem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
currently under security and privacy app store and identified developer is selected
find quote
DarrenHill Offline
Team-Kodi Minion
Posts: 6,100
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 153
Location: UK, except when I'm not.
Post: #11
Thread moved to the Mac OS X section.

Look in this area, there are several examples of people having this issue and how to resolve it (along the lines that @nickr mentions).

| Banned add-ons (wiki) | Forum rules (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | FAQs (wiki) | Troubleshooting (wiki) | Add-ons (wiki) | Free content (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki) | Free Movies/TV Shows
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 09:38 by DarrenHill.)
find quote
happyapp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
HI all, sorry to be a pain.

I'm very new to this and have the same issue error message when trying to install Kodi on my mac.
Does anyone have a fix to this they can help me with ?

thanks in advance.
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,893
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 388
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #13
See post 9.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
happyapp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hi I have just tired that and still the same error message. I'm running mac OS Sierra which does not give the option to install software from anywhere , do you think this could be the problem?
find quote
Apple_iStu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
This should help you out :-)
find quote
Post Reply