Can one plug off an external drive while tMM rebuilds the image cache?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Can one plug off an external drive while tMM rebuilds the image cache:
[Image: Mapdypr.png]

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #2
Depends ^^
When your movies and images are on that external drive, i guess NO - where else should we get the images to cache from?

The ideas of the cache is, to see the graphics in GUI, even when the external drive is not attached...
so either ignore that feature (cache=off) or let it run....

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
No, no, one of the best features I badly need to see the images of medias when the drives are plugged of.

But tMM rebuilds that cache "all the time", just some movies added and it rebuilds the entire cache, obviously, That lasts very long when there are 3000 movies on one drive.

Many thanks

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #4
well, you are right.
There are currently a few problems with actor images.
If you have chosen to download them, but not yet have downloaded (and therefor not cached) them, there will be many checks which slowes everything down.
This can only fixed in V3 (need a complete rework)

Would you mind doing a short test?
Please disable the "actor downloading" in settings>movie>images
When you do an update again, is it still that slow?

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Quote:If you have chosen to download them
Yes, I have. So I should better turn it off, I guess.

[Image: Dz6rdDB.png]

Quote:This can only fixed in V3 (need a complete rework)
So a lot of work, obviously.

Alright, a test, I will have to wait until the caching now is finished, I interrupted it before, because it seemed to have stopped. This caching here lasts some hours, so may be I should not test with that drive but use a folder with less items. When I stop image cache building / the test, will then all of the already cached images be discarded or kept?

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 20:44 by Boyzie.)
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #6
What has been cached, stays cached Smile

But i think the problem will be only with missing images... hence the test without actors.
You also could post the last few lines from logfile - maybe we get a better clue if that's the issue...

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Quote: What has been cached, stays cached Smile
Good, so I could stop the test if it lasts too long.

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 21:35 by Boyzie.)
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Do I have to (re)scrape some movies or all in a folder or add some or / and update the data source to test?

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 21:19 by Boyzie.)
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #9
log is just from update... seems there were not a caching task running :|

Just close & reopen TMM, and do an update without the .actors setting...
We'll see, if this speeds the caching up....

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Quote: log is just from update... seems there were not a caching task running :|
Well, it is currently running:
[Image: vqNVvZq.png]
Sorry, I do not understand what that means.

Quote: Just close & reopen TMM, and do an update without the .actors setting...
Yes, I will try after that task above is finished.

I have a movie folder containing sub folders each having a single movie. A sub folder of the movie folder is an .actors folder containing more than 6000 files. Is it needed or can I delete it? I would think each movie sub folder containing a single movie has a single .actors folder with the actor images for that movie.

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 21:43 by Boyzie.)
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #11
Yes, there is currently a detection problem, when there is exactly ONE movie in a folder, with several nested movies in subfoldes.
Just be sure, that every movie is in it's own dedicated folder (not nested)
(Has already been fixed in latest nightly)
This also lead to some longer update times...

(2017-07-04 21:30)Boyzie Wrote:  Yes, I will try after that task above is finished.
Just cancel it and restart TMM - seems there's too much running at the same time...

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 21:54 by myron.)
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Alright, already fixed one problem.

Quote: Just be sure, that every movie is in it's own dedicated folder (not nested)
Yes, it is like that. It looks like:
[Image: cEDCEI6.png]

But there are also some folders containg sub folders which contain a single movie each. E.g. movie sets.

Sorry, I am not sure, can I delete those:
A sub folder of the movie folder is an .actors folder containing more than 6000 files. Is it needed or can I delete it?

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 22:02 by Boyzie.)
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #13
When there's an .actor folder in a directory, there must have been a moviefile in same dir.
SInce it looks like the datasource root folder, this is not correct (but might have been for an older version)
If the folder only contains some actor jpegs, i guess it is fine deleteing them.

Moviesets are not a problem; but incorrectly nested video files are.
You might try latest nightly for a fix (ONLY FOR TESTING - not for daily work)
extract to separate dir, start clean

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
find quote
Boyzie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Quote: When there's an .actor folder in a directory, there must have been a moviefile in same dir.
Yes, that is right, I have moved the movies to its own folders, each movie has its own folder now. And those folders are sub folders of the movie folder now containing the .actors folder.
Yes, jpgs and tbns:
[Image: rtc1eN7.png]

Quote: Moviesets are not a problem; but incorrectly nested video files are.
What exactly are such nested video files?

I just finished the test, rebuilding the image cache now lasts about 5 minutes for the same folder / files, before 2, 3, 4 hours or even longer.

So when downloading the actor images is switched off there won't be shown any actors under "Cast", is it right?

Windows 10 Home, 64bit | Newest stable Kodi in portable mode
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-04 22:43 by Boyzie.)
find quote
myron Offline
Moderator
Posts: 804
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: de_AT
Post: #15
ok, so the (missing) actors are the problem - as i thought.
Kinda; additional to the file, we also saved sometimes the originating url from actor image.
So some might even display, whilst others wont.

It should be slightly faster on nightly/next version, but the problem still persist.
Have to think, if and how we can improve this.... but probably only for v3

tinyMediaManager - THE media manager of your choice :)
Wanna help translate TMM ?
[Image: project_thin_badge?format=gif]
find quote
Post Reply