Kodi 17 - Headphones in kodi, passthrough doesn't work, command?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Jamessuperfun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi all. I'm trying to set up a USB headset to work in kodi. It is detected fine and I can play audio out of it. However, I was hoping to set up the passthrough to play through both my HDMI output and the USB headset. I'm running on LibreElec.

I've turned audio sync off, but I still can't make the "Passthrough" functionality work. It only plays out of the main device. This isn't too much of an issue if I can use Yatse's custom commands to switch between them easily. However, I'm struggling to find any way to change the output device with a command. Any ideas?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,980
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 559
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #2
Are you serious ? :-)

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
Jamessuperfun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2017-07-14 12:40)fritsch Wrote:  Are you serious ? :-)

Yes, have I done something wrong/stupid?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,980
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 559
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #4
Passthrough means: send compressed audio to a device that is capable of decompressing and decoding it. It's a RAW audio stream consisting of IEC Frames.

Your headphone won't do anything with Passthrough-Audio. If you convince sending these bytes by force directly to it you will hear a whole lot of noise and nothing else.

In short: Passthrough only works in combination with a capable endpoint, e.g. an AVR.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
Jamessuperfun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Ah, sorry about that!

Is there a way I can instruct Kodi to mirror the sound to another device, or a command I can use to switch between audio devices?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,980
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 559
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #6
A command exists via some json guisettings hack, please use the forum search for that.

Multi-audio is not supported by kodi. It can be easily done with pulseaudio, but is not supported in LibreELEC.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote