Cant turn off subtitles

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
archie456 Offline
Fan
Posts: 347
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I've just set up Kodi from new again - deleting my old install - to get rid of some issues.

I'm using Kodi Krypton on a Raspberry Pi 3.

Everything works sweet, apart from I can't keep Kodi from displaying subtitles.

when I play a movie, subtitles show, I go to Audio and Subtitle settings and disable them, and then Set as default for all media.

But when I play the next episode in the series, subtitles are back on again.

Am I missing something?

Thanks.
find quote
Klojum Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 13
Location: In a house
Post: #2
If you have a normal keyboard attached, press 't'.

Set as default should work. Try setting the subtitle setting for all again, and reboot the RPi.
See if settings are stored/saved properly then.
find quote
Segfault Offline
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
Post: #3
You cannot turn off embedded subtitles ...
find quote
Klojum Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 13
Location: In a house
Post: #4
There are external subtitles, internal/embedded subtitles and 'engraved' subtitles. The last type of subtitles can indeed not be disabled.
find quote
archie456 Offline
Fan
Posts: 347
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I can turn off the subtitles fine, its just that when I play the next video file (they are all mkv files) they are back on again.

When I turn them off, I always select "set as default for all media" - but it does not seem to remember this setting.
find quote
archie456 Offline
Fan
Posts: 347
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I'm still getting this problem.

It even occurs if I turn of subtitles, stop the move, play it again - subtitles are back on.

I'm wondering if there is any settings file within Kodi I can edit to turn them off.

Cheers.
find quote
SeVreN2013 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 7
Location: Down Under
Post: #7
(2017-07-15 08:32)Klojum Wrote:  There are external subtitles, internal/embedded subtitles and 'engraved' subtitles. The last type of subtitles can indeed not be disabled.

'engraved' subtitles ... aka. 'Hard Coded' aka. "HC"
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-15 05:32 by SeVreN2013.)
find quote
SeVreN2013 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 7
Location: Down Under
Post: #8
(2017-08-14 22:48)archie456 Wrote:  I'm still getting this problem.

It even occurs if I turn of subtitles, stop the move, play it again - subtitles are back on.

I'm wondering if there is any settings file within Kodi I can edit to turn them off.

Cheers.

most probably your mkv's have 'Forced' subtitles ie. the forced flag header is set to true or yes.

(even if you disable the subs for your current video and set as default ... if the next video has 'forced subs' then the subs will be back)

5.3 describes this behaviour .. Subtitles (wiki)

the only way AFIAK is to use MKVMerge to set the subtitle flag header to false / off and then remux. (or alternately, uncheck the subtitle track to strip it out of the mkv file)

(or you use batch processing to strip the subs ... example: https://www.videohelp.com/software/MKVBatch)
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-15 05:35 by SeVreN2013.)
find quote
archie456 Offline
Fan
Posts: 347
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
SeVreN2013 - I suspect your right, the symptoms are exactly as you describe.

Seems strange that there is such as thing as 'forced' subtitles.

If I remux will I not lose video quality?

Thanks.
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,921
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 331
Post: #10
(2017-08-15 14:28)archie456 Wrote:  Seems strange that there is such as thing as 'forced' subtitles.

'Forced' subtitles are typically used for foreign language parts (e.g. Na'vi speech in Avatar).
In general even if you don't want subtitles for general dialogue, you probably do want the forced ones.

It is possible your subtitled have been tagged incorrectly and the forced flag is on for normal dialogue.

Quote:If I remux will I not lose video quality?

No. Remuxing doesn't touch the audio/video. Re-encoding would lose video quality.
find quote
Sholander Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #11
@archie456

Absolutely not, it is a lossless and a fast process. Use MkvMerge or MkvToolNix for the job. Chosen files in chosen MKV container are only copied into a new MKV container.

Ups, I am too slow Smile
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-15 15:17 by Sholander.)
find quote
SeVreN2013 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 7
Location: Down Under
Post: #12
(2017-08-15 14:28)archie456 Wrote:  SeVreN2013 - I suspect your right, the symptoms are exactly as you describe.

Seems strange that there is such as thing as 'forced' subtitles.

If I remux will I not lose video quality?

Thanks.

nah, i use forced sub's all the time for "foreign language only" (i'm english speaking)

nope, remuxing is super fast (couple of minutes ?) with no video/audio quality loss Smile
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-15 17:02 by SeVreN2013.)
find quote