Concept Thoughts on concept skin (orig. for plex/OpenPHT) by Vane Jung
Hi all!

I'd like to hear your opinions on this concept design by Vane Jung, a very talented UX Architect.

Someone somewhere on the Reddits shared this a while back, hoping to get someone to make this a reality for OpenPHT, to no avail. However, not all is lost! I feel like this would be a wonderful addition to the amazing selection of skins available today, and would help fill what I believe to be a void in the Kodi skin database for this style of work (help me out here, not sure what you'd call this, minimalist?). Vane Jung continued with this theme again here as well as a concept icon here.

Now I'm no designer (actually currently at uni studying computer science... wish me luck!) but if any of you talented folk feel like picking this one up that would be fantastic! (and I'll try my best to support you in your endeavours!). The only thing I'm not too sure on is the 'home' screen, where the horizontal main navigation is (Movies, TV Shows, etc.) as I feel like a skin like this is all about showing off the artwork and hiding it behind text and a harsh gradient kind of harms the effect. A 'home' screen more like the first image (slideshow concept on his website, first image in imgur) would be more appropriate, with links at the bottom, in similar style of course!

So if nothing comes of this I might see if I can pick this up myself (once again... wish me luck!) but first I'd like to hear your thoughts:
  • Is this feasible with the Kodi skin engine?
  • What more would need to be designed in order to make this 'compatible' and,
  • What sort of time frame/work load are we looking at here?

Now for the good bits, what it looks like!

watch gallery

Alright, well thanks for your time! Tell me what you think and if you'd like to help make this a reality please let me know!
(2017-07-27, 13:16)Firelfy Wrote:
  • Is this feasible with the Kodi skin engine?