Grey bars with movies

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Robert3750 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I see bright grey bars instead of black bars. Happens with some movies but not others. Happens on the side bars in the case of 4:3 movies, and top and bottom bars in the case of widescreen movies. Changing the brightness range to/from 16-235 makes no difference. It has nothing to do with the black level settings on my displays, because the problem doesn't show on MPC-H64 or VLC. Why are they ok and Kodi isn't? I am not streaming and I have no addons. These are movies on my hard drive. My log:

https://www.pastefs.com/pid/21226
find quote
808? Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 4
Location: Hong Kong
Post: #2
DEBUG: ADDON: cpluff: 'Plug-in script.exodus.metadata has been installed.'
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-13 08:47 by 808?.)
find quote
Robert3750 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I don't understand why it shows, because I uninstalled it months ago, well before I ran the debug log. How do I get rid of it completely so that the kodi install is absolutely clean?
find quote
Dangelus Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,935
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 27
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #4
That's the problem with these piracy add-ons. They can install and intertwine themselves so deeply that sometimes your only option is a clean install.

I would suggest using the Backup add-on to back up your profile and other settings and do exactly that. You may find the issue goes away. If it doesn't then at least you'll have a clean system that is eligible for support here.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
DarrenHill Offline
Team-Kodi Minion
Posts: 5,899
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 149
Location: UK, except when I'm not.
Post: #5
Go in either with Kodi's file manager or if possible an external one (with kodi shut down) and review the content of your add-ons folder (and addon_data in the userdata (wiki) folder).

Remove anything that shouldn't be there, but as with all such things make a backup first.

| Banned add-ons (wiki) | Forum rules (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | FAQs (wiki) | Troubleshooting (wiki) | Add-ons (wiki) | Free content (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki) | Free Movies/TV Shows
find quote
Robert3750 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Thanks guys. I wound up completely deleting the Kodi folders, uninstalling, then rebuilding the library from scratch. Maddeningly enough, I still had the problem, but I think I found a solution: I set Kodi not to use the 16-235 range, and this time it worked. Bars are black.
find quote