My dreams and odyssey of Live TV in Kodi (just want to vent)
First off this is not a Kodi problem it is a cable tv problem. And maybe i am an idiot.

I have been using OTA for live TV since 2013, the same time I began using xbmc/kodi.
I started out with an eyeTV hybrid on a mac mini and one tv.

A year ago switched to a HDHomerun connect and added 2 TV’s. I started with the Hdhomerrun kodi addon. It worked well for what it is but I really missed the ability to time shift (pause and rewind). So I switched to Tvheadend. At the same time I switched to LibreElec on my two chromeboxes and a raspberry pi 3. I am now a big fan of Libreelec! Tvheadend has worked well but setup was a challenge and I still need to add icons.

Last week I got he hair brained idea to go back to Cable TV (spectrum). So after much research and reading I ordered a Hdhomerun Prime. Picked up a cablecard and installed the unofficial Hdhomerun PVR app found on the Hdhomerun Kodi forum. The prime arrived and as the excitement of full DVR capabilities, fun graphics, easy to use guide and time shifting was building in my mind, it all came to a crushing disappointment.

Every channel was DRM!!!!! What the F***! The only channels that work are the locals we already had for free OTA. Shit!

I sold this glorious plan to my wife. How am I going to explain this? What am I going to do now?

So after more research, I am returning the prime.
One of our TV’s is a Roku TV, so I tested the spectrum app on it and it worked well enough ( no time shifting, $#@%%^&!). So I picked up a Roku Stick for one of the other TVs. Went back to Tvheadend with the OTA for local recording and time shifting.

Not ideal to say the least but we will give it a try for now and see.
My wife is not thrilled but is accustom to my kodi adventures, she is the best I still get to sleep in bed with her, for now.

If you have any other suggestions or ideas they are much appreciated.

Thank you for allowing me to vent.