Mac To Roku (or AppleTV)?
Hi,

I'm new to media servers, and have a basic question.

Can Kodi send content from my Mac/Yosemite to our TV, via Roku or AppleTV?

If yes, can you link to any articles or discussion on this topic?

Thanks!
Google for airplay mirroring from mac to appletv4
AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
(2017-08-27, 11:55)Memphiz Wrote: Google for airplay mirroring from mac to appletv4

Thanks for the reminder about Airplay.

I should refine my question.

I just spent 3 days wrestling with Plex and decided it's not for me. I'm looking for something that does what Plex does, but more simply, and especially more reliably.

I'm hoping to create a setup where when my Mac is booted up it will automatically launch some media server. Then we can navigate and play the designated media on the Mac from the TV.

I'm attempting to determine whether Kodi can do this job before I install it and learn it etc. When Kodi is installed will we be able to browse our media content (that's on the Mac) from the TV? Will there be an interface on the TV that shows folders and sub-folders of our media?

I can't seem to find such a direct explanation on the site. There's a lot of whizz bang marketing hoopla etc, but not much specific information for those of us new to media servers.

I hope this is clearer. Many thanks.
(2017-08-27, 12:35)Tanny Wrote: I can't seem to find such a direct explanation on the site. There's a lot of whizz bang marketing hoopla etc, but not much specific information for those of us new to media servers.

I hope this is clearer. Many thanks.

To begin with, there is no "marketing hoopla" as Kodi is not a product. It's free open-source software that is developed and maintained by a group of volunteers.