Get Current Plugin URL?
Hi all. I'm very new to Kodi plugins and development. I am writing a script to go along with a RetroPie installation that will allow the use of Kodi's numerous rom launchers with retropie's runcommand.sh method of launching emulators. Its a long story, but suffice to say that Kodi must be exited before an emulator launches because Kodi hogs the framebuffer, so the emulator never displays.

Anyway. I have my script working, I'm just trying to tweak it and for that I need a kodi plugin expert's advice.

So the way the script works now is you go to for example AEL (Advanced Emulator Launcher), you point it to my script. My script executes, closes kodi, opens emulator. When emulator closes, script reopens Kodi again. Trouble is that Kodi always opens at its home screen, not at the last place you were at when Kodi quit (AEL). If you're in the middle of a retrogaming marathon, it could be annoying to have to navigate manually back to the launcher to pick a different title.

The way I understand things is that kodi addons display the information on screen that they do based on url calls. Something to the tune of (plugin://plugin.program.launcher/someurl). I'm trying to figure out how to (programatically) get what the current or most recent displayed url is. This way, when my script closes Kodi, it can pass the url to a file, which will then be read at Kodi launch and bring the interface back to the same url it was at when Kodi closed.

I've been hunting for the solution to this via google and other posts for about a week, but no one has an answer, or even knows if this is possible. At this point I'd be happy with the URL in a line in the kodi.log that I could read from my script.

Does anyone have any guidance they could share with me?
Thread moved to addon development
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|