"no free adapter available" after kodi/machine resume from sleep
I have tvheadend set up and working great. However when the box goes into sleep, when it resumes I can't play any live TV. "no free adapter available".
Restarting the box fixes it. I have doubled checked and there's no other PVR add-ons that could be using the card.

I'm using openelec.

I can only seem to find similar issues where restarting the box causes this. But restarting the box for me fixes it! Only caused by resuming from sleep.

Has anyone encountered this before?

Thanks
I know this problem quite well. Although i dont use openelec.
I set up a normal lubuntu 16.04 and start into kodi on startup. But I encountered your problem because my system didnt unmount the driver for m tv-card when going to sleep. so the adapter is already in use, when you resume.
As I use lubuntu 16.04 and systemd and I am only a user not a developer I kinda did try and error and solved the problem for me.
If you are interested I can share my config with you.
Yes please ninjafuchs that would be great.
I think I remember seeing an option relating to unmounting, but it was a text entry field and I didn't know what to enter or what it required..
Maybe that is something, that you could try out.
I for myself wrote a little service file.
First you have to find out which modules you have to unload.
you can use: dmesg|grep DVB or lsmod|grep dvb

so my modules are: budget, budget_core, dvb_core and saa7146

Unfortunately the order of unmounting and mounting seems to have influence on this topic.

So you need sudo rights and create a file:
I chose: /etc/systemd/system/kodi-suspend.service
and wrote in it:

[Unit]
Description=stop tvheadend, dvb-module und xbox-controller treiber
Before=sleep.target
StopWhenUnneeded=yes

[Service]
User=root
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=yes
ExecStart=/bin/systemctl stop tvheadend.service
ExecStart=/sbin/modprobe -r budget
ExecStart=/sbin/modprobe -r budget_core
ExecStart=/sbin/modprobe -r dvb_core