How to avoid rule violations
I just made my first post on another thread asking but Internet speed issues and it got closed because I mentioned a banned program add-on. First, my apologies for that. I am not trying to break any rules. I am not knowingly using any illegal add-ons. I'm new to Kodi and I am just trying to learn more about it.

My question here is how can I find out if an add-on is illegal before I get into trouble again. I had no idea the one I used was on the banned list. The only reason I installed it is because a search told me this was a tool I could use to measure my Internet speed. That is the only thing I used it for. In any case, it is gone now. I did another search and found a script that also works, but how do I know if this is also on the banned list? It is rather confusing. I have been careful to avoid any obvious pirate repositories and have only installed video add-ons from the official Kodi repository, but it is almost impossible to tell if something from a third party is okay or not. If anyone could help with this I would appreciate clarity.
Hello Rikkitic

An add-on can be banned for a number of reasons. The most common are as follows:
  1. If an add-on allows you to access content that you would normally have to pay for, then it is banned as it is pirated and copyright infringing. eg. if it is still playing at the cinemas, or only available on paid streaming sites like Netflix or Foxtel.
  2. It is suspected or known to perform actions that compromise security and/or privacy without the users consent
  3. Is so poorly written that it compromises the proper function of the Kodi software
  4. Is using code that does not abide by FOSS guidelines

If the add-on itself does not violate the above but it comes from a repository that hosts other add-on(s) that do violate the above, then the entire repository and all its add-ons are banned