Newbie - Considering NVIDIA Shield TV Pro - Any Advice?
Hello Kodi Community!

I know I'm a newbie so I read the pinned "start here" and "hardware lists" but they didn't quite cover what I'm looking for.  I've had kodi and some old emulators running on an old laptop, but now that I'm moving into a new house I'm wanting to upgrade to a new device that will work in our living room on our good-ish tv. 

So I started a list of things I want my home-box to do:
  1. Play the movies and TV I've amassed over the years
    • I've got an external drive with a little over 3 TB's of movies on it
    • I'm hoping it can register the movies on the external HDD as part of the library
  2. Easily switch to Netflix or Hulu depending on if my wife wants to watch something on there
  3. Run some of my emulators of my old games
    • All games I own physical copies, not interested in the philosophy or politics of emulators
    • Also nice would be to have a controller to play some of the games with
  4. Not take up a lot of space and work with my tv
    • It's a 39" 1080p LCD TV, the best I can afford for a while
  5. Stay under my budget (started with a max of around $500)

After quite a bit of looking, I started reading up on the NVIDIA Shield TV Pro, and I think it hits every one of my criteria, but $300 is quite a bit to shell out without knowing for sure.  If any of you have an NVIDIA Shield TV, will it do the things I'm wanting it to? Thanks in advance!
If you can afford it I don't think you'd regret it. The extra space for roms would go a long way.

(2017-12-11, 01:37)BORIStheBLADE Wrote: If you can afford it I don't think you'd regret it. The extra space for roms would go a long way.
So do you have any experience with the NVIDIA Shield TV?
Do you happen to know if Kodi works with it while an external HDD is connected?
Or do you know if it plays emulators well?
For the Shield, the first place to start is here: https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=304226