v18 Cannot run kodi compiled from sources
Hi,

I'm new to rpi & kodi but I'm an experienced developer and know my way in Linux.

I've (crossed) compiled kodi following the instructions in https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...aspberrypi
Well, almost; I've done it on Ubuntu 16.04 and not 14.04 as indicated in the page above. Apparently, the build fails on 14.04.

The build successfully ended with an executable called kodi-rbpi of size(~4.4G).
I've copied it over to my pi and launched it.
Got the following message:

Unable to find path to Kodi data files!
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

I've tried setting KODI_HOME to an arbitrary directory:

KODI_HOME=/home/pi ./kodi-rbpi

This time I got:

ERROR: Unable to create application. Exiting
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

I've removed ~/.kodi/, but this didn't make a difference.
So, whct should I do to launch the executable compiled from sources?

Thanks, Efi
you have to install the build using the install target, you can't just copy the executable. there are tons of data files.

if you want a self-contained build and not install on the system os;
configure the build with some prefix -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/where/you/want/it
run make install DESTDIR=/some/temp/dir

then copy /some/temp/dir/* to / on your pi.

also if you get a 4.4GB exec you probably built debug? or at least with symbols. so i'd strip that bugger.
additionally to the above, you might also need a few libs from depends $PREFIX (the one from the tools/depends/ step)
I'm not interested in a self contained build.
I believe the executable was compiled in debug mode. For the time being I'll use it. If all goes well, I'll recompile in release mode.
I have a target directory that lists 3 sub directories, namely:
i686-linux-gnu-native/ 
raspberry-pi2-debug/ 
xbmc-tarballs/

What exactly do I need to copy over, and where to?
I do not want to override my rpi system files. I'll copy as many shared libraries as needed...