What would work best with HDHomeRun Tuners and Debian 9.3?
I am brand new to Kodi.  I have been trying for a week to get all this going.  I've googled, RTFM, pulled out a bunch of hair.  I can watch TV, but I cannot get it to record.  I have a subscription to Schedules Direct and would like to continue to use it.

I am running Debian Linux (Stretch) version 9.3 on a PC with 8GB RAM.  I have two HDHomeRun tuners.

I want to be able to record OTA TV. 

I think the best place to start, is what would work best with this setup? 

1) -NA-
2) -NA-
3) Okay Smile
4) Debian 9.3
5) x86_64, GeForce 8400 GS Rev. 2
6) apt, all from  the Debian. No PPA, no builds
7) Kodi from Debian 17.1 Debian package 2  Compliled 2:17.1 +dfsg 1-3
8) - 11) -NA-

uname -a: Linux anthem 4.9.0-5-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.65-3+deb9u2 (2018-01-04) x86_64 GNU/Linux

Both Tuners are
HD HomeRun CONNECT
Hardware Model    HDHR4-2US
Firmware Version    20170930

Thank you.

-Julian
I recommend MythTV. The Kodi-MythTV-PVR add-on works well and the mythtv backend supports schedules direct out of the box.
Quick edit -- looks like you will have too build from source. Details in link

https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Installing_MythTV_on_Debian
I've spent about two weeks trying to get MythTV installed.  I have not been able to build it.  I get errors and the build fails.  At one point I was able to get MythTV running, using the debian multimedia repository (http://www.deb-multimedia.org/),  but all the sudden, it quit recording.

Although I'm trying to get away from MythTV, I can always come back to it, once I get Kodi running.

If I drop the Schedules Direct requirement, what would be the best way to get Kodi up and running with my configuration?

Thank you.

-Julian
Mythtv is the best way, if you need help making it work, go to their mailing list.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)