Solved RE-installation, to fix problem unknown. Can't reinstall "cleanly". Linux Mint Mate
No matter how/where I look I don't get it.  My Kodi worked fine perfect for a few weeks and now i have a video conflict of some sort.

I didn't change anything drastic. I did try to reset to defaults everywhere I could find that option in Kodi menus.
I'm only beginning to understand the most basic of the terminal commands and we just got this stuff sorted a few weeks ago. BUT now I'm totally confused how to get this crash log stuff like we did before.

I've tried twice at least to uninstall/reinstall Kodi, hoping that would fix any bugginess or at least the issue causing the problem.
But each time it comes back up with my personal favorites and i KNOW that's not a clean install.

There's no real "flow chart" for me to follow and that's about what I need to grasp the totality of the processes and all the French I don't get. Networking and Programming are two areas I just don't have any base of knowledge and every single time I try to discuss things that are related to such--I gloss over too many words I don't know the meanings of "French" and get the job done AND then I'm all good until next time.  At which point I'm lost because well, it's worked this way for me for 35 years and I'm ADHD about it, just hammer through and make something happen even if it breaks, then you'll know where you stand.

Sorry, but this personal base is to let you know I'm no dummy, just unfamiliar with everyday common terms and phrases and concepts that underly all this wonderful computing we do - when it comes to the "under hood" stuff.  I'm going to go back and look at my previous thread here to see what I did there--as the Wiki here just left me more confused again.

Question. what exactly makes a clean install?  "Purge"? "Delete"? "Do Over"?
I don't see any new crashlogs where those old ones were.  It's the same old pile of logs.  I'm not sure how to find any other ones.