help with sorting a WidgetListCategories
OK, Im not really sure what to officially call what I'm trying to do :-)  

I'm just an amateur modifying the default estuary skin to make it more custom.
I've got pretty much everything working the way I want, except this one thing is confounding me.

in Home.xml, I've modified the widgets on the RHS of "movies" to simply have 3 lists:    genres, Recently added movies, and a new "Years" category.  The first 2 already existed, I deleted the rest, and I tried adding a modified version of "genres" to show the years

It works... except it shows them in ascending order, starting in 1927.  I want them in descending order since the point was an easy way to get to the last few years of releases. And of course it gets cut off after 15 or so... meaning all the recent years I am looking for aren't available at all :-P

Nothing I try makes this happen.   The widget currently looks like:

<include content="WidgetListCategories" condition="Library.HasContent(movies)">
  <param name="content_path" value="videodb://movies/years/"/>
  <param name="sortorder" value="descending"/>
  <param name="widget_header" value="Years"/>
  <param name="widget_target" value="videos"/>
  <param name="list_id" value="7777"/>
  <param name="icon" value="$VAR[WidgetYearIconVar]"/>
  <param name="icon_height" value="70"/>   
</include>

I've also tried adding various 'sortby' fields (date, year, years), but nothing seems to change the order.       

Suggestions? 

Thanks
Andrew
You could make a playlist and set that as the path.
Shield TV | Windows 10 | Mariadb | Mii Box
Evolve Ecosystem Repo | TV Melodies | Madnox Holiday Mod
have you adjusted the WidgetListCategories code as well?
an further down down road, the SubmenuContent code also needs changes.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support.
Always read the Forum rules, Kodi online-manual, FAQ, Help and Search the forum before posting.
No, I don't know what that means :-)