Sony will not Crop video when adjusting View Modes.
Hi there,
I'm new to KODI,I have it installed on my Sony Android TV, I think it is a great application but I think I'm missing something. I've been watching ripped blu ray movies for quite some time on my TV, the source being an laptop. I've used Media Player Classic which has  a feature called Pan & Scan - Zoom to Widescreen, or manually increase size of the image video cropping the margins. Anyway I did NOT find a solution on KODI, only stretching the video resulting in not preserving the aspect ratio.
So it's there a way to preserve the aspect ratio of the video and get rid of the black bars?
Here is an example on Media Player Classic on Windows :

And without black bars, but keeping the aspect ratio: 

Is there a way to do that in KODI?
I don't have a problem if the left and right margins of the video file are cropped.
Thank you!
I have never understood why people prefer to discard part of the image so they don't have black bars. Anyway each to their own.

The "cog" icon in the bottom right corner of the OSD while the movie is playing. Click it, then select Video Settings, then adjust the "View Mode" to your preference

https://kodi.wiki/view/Home_screen_and_b...g_Controls
My Signature
Links to : Official:Forum rules (wiki) | Official:Forum rules/Banned add-ons (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki)
Links to : HOW-TO:Create Music Library (wiki) | HOW-TO:Create_Video_Library (wiki)  ||  Artwork (wiki) | Basic controls (wiki) | Import-export library (wiki) | Movie sets (wiki) | Movie universe (wiki) | NFO files (wiki) | Quick start guide (wiki)
That option does NOT preserve the aspect ratio of the movie. It only stretches the movie ( not cropping left and right margins )
I mean this is the result :

It is not the same aspect ratio as the movie, it is stretched.
It doesn't for me.
My Signature
Links to : Official:Forum rules (wiki) | Official:Forum rules/Banned add-ons (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki)