Unable to connect to smb using Ubuntu 17.10
Hi Everyone,

I just installed ubuntu 17.10 onto a PC and I having trouble getting Kodi to connect to SMB shares on my NAS. I can connect to the shares in Ubuntu ok and can connect to them using my Windows 10 PC, just not in Kodi on the ubuntu box. 

When I try to connect I simply get the error "Connection timed out".

I am pretty new to Linux, but any help would be appreciated

Oh and just FYI the NAS that I cam trying to connect to is a Synology 916+

Thanks.
If you are able to access them via Ubuntu, then simply use system mounts and let Kodi point to the mountpoint.

That would be the recommended way anyway.
"Connection timed out" suggests a failure by the client (Kodi on Ubuntu) to negotiate a suitable SMB protocol with the SMB server (the NAS).

Since Kodi 17.6 on Ubuntu should still be defaulting to SMB1 only, it sounds like your SMB server is configured to not accept SMB1 connections. To fix this you need to configure Kodi so that it will negotiate better than SMB1: in Kodi go into Settings > Services, enable Expert settings level, then in SMB Client configure "max protocol = SMB3".
Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
I don't seem to have adoption in set any custom settings in the SMB client settings, the only option I have is 

WINS Server 
Workgoup.
Ive found a work around, my Synology NAS was set to use SMB2 and above, so I set it back to SMB1 and now it works.
(2018-02-25, 03:03)valo265 Wrote: I don't seem to have adoption in set any custom settings in the SMB client settings, the only option I have is 

WINS Server 
Workgoup.