GSoC 2018 - Interested in "Better Profile Suppor" and "Addon submissions" projects
2018 - Interested in "Better Profile Suppor" and "Addon submissions" projects

Hi! My name is Carlos Muñoz, I’m 20 years old and I’m studying Computer Engineering at University of Extremadura, in Spain. I’m on my 6th semester at university (3rd year).
I’m interested on two ideas:

=Better Profile Support:=

I’m interested in that idea because can be done fully by one of my well-known languages, C++.

I have some ideas here to make profiles system more attractive to users.
First, it should be easy and comfortable to use profile system. The second part is as important as the first ones. Humans are lazy, especially when we are sitting in front of our PC thinking on doing exactly what we want to do, and no one extra thing.

For that reason, I think that would be nice if users can switch profiles easily without entering in settings menu. Usually users that enter in settings menu are locking for a change of something in the program, but when you want to change your profile is cause you want to start using the program, so this change should improve user experience.

I would put this improvement on a small button in the main Kodi menu. This button would be in a discreet place of the main menu, as it could be in some of the corners of the bottom of the main menu. This button would show the avatar of the profile and when pressed, would show a simple menu with entries as a list, in which each entry would be a different profile (with its name and avatar). It would also show a "+" to be able to add profiles quickly, and a gear that would lead directly to the menu entry dedicated to the profiles.
I leave you an example here: https://ibb.co/cWyJFS