Creating a new playlist menu viewtype
Hello all,

I'm new to posting but I've been using Kodi for about 6 months. I decided to dig into the skin code to see if I could make some tweaks. I've already dug around and figured out how to combine certain elements I like from various skins to put them into my own custom skin but I've had an idea I can't seem to find enough information about.

What I have is a folder of playlists I've made for various things like MCU movies and DCEU and Harry Potter etc. I can access this folder of playlists from one screen and then select a playlist and view it on another screen. What I've trying to figure out is if I can have a screen divided in 3 panels, the first being the folder list of playlists that I can scroll up and down through. When a playlist is highlighted the middle panel shows the contents of the highlighted playlist. I would then select "right arrow" and move to the center panel to scroll up and down through that list. The third panel would draw information from the highlighted selection in the second panel (or first item if control is in the first panel) and basically pull just the poster art and some basic file data info with a possible custom banner above the poster frame.

I'm not sure what sort of menu I'd have to create if this is possible to work because I can't seem to figure out how the settings menus work. Like once you go into settings and select Media you get another screen with a list on the left side that changes what's in the list on the right side. If that makes sense. Thinkinf if I can figure this out my idea should be easy?

For an example.

Panel 1                                                    Panel 2                                                               Panel 3

Marvel Cinematic Universe                    Iron Man                                                              MARVEL STUDIOS BANNER