v17 source too slow for continuous playback, despite setting larger cache with memorysize
Let me start off by apologizing if this has been addressed and I am just not finding the correct setting.
I am normally very adamant about finding the solution on my own through forums/google but after 2 days of looking for the answer I am asking for help.

I am unsure if this bug has been reported, or if there is a hidden setting to correct it.

I have been using Kodi for many years, I do not think I experienced this issue prior to version 17.

Running Ubuntu 18.04.1 with Kodi 17.6

machine: core i3-2120 3.3GHz dual core with hyper-threading, 8GB ram

The media source directory is mounted from a remote server using sshfs.

here is my advancedsettings:

xml:
<advancedsettings>
  <cache>
    <buffermode>1</buffermode>
    <memorysize>268435456</memorysize>
    <readfactor>10</readfactor>
  </cache>
</advancedsettings>

If the bitrate of the file is low enough, then I will not experience the issue.

So I understand that the issue is the limit of my network capability, however this is not the issue.

The issue is that some of the videos, while close to the limit of my network, would still play perfectly fine, if Kodi would simply try pausing for long enough to buffer ahead.

In my recent testing, when Kodi attempts to buffer, I get the progress dial in the center of the screen, the number goes from 1.. 2.. 3.. 4.. 5.. 6.. I am assuming this is a percent of 100?
Once it gets to about 6% it gives me the message "source too slow for continuous playback"

At this point it will attempt to drop frames to continue playing, however the result is that the video ENDLESSLY stutters along at about 3FPS with no audio.

However if I manually hit the pause button, wait a couple minutes, then hit play, the movie will play WITHOUT ISSUE, sometimes it will play through the entire movie too! other times I have to pause a couple more times.