v18 Slow directory listing
Hey guys,

I have been using the nightlies, following this guide for a couple of months now. What I noticed from the start, was that directory listing of 2 of my remote sources were kinda slow. Now with the latest nightlies its gotten really, really bad. Takes about a minute to simply enter and list a directory which contains maybe 200 subdirs with Videos in them. 
I have to add, these 2 sources are mounted via sshfs and added in Kodi as simple local paths like /mnt/sshfs1. So Kodi shouldn't be able to tell that it's actually a remote source.
On the shell itself I can list the very same directory within 0.5 seconds.
I now also tested a clean install of Kodi 17.6, just toggled a few standard settings (Sound, localization etc.), no addons installed and voila - directory listing is as fast as on the shell < 1 sec.
Then again, I tested once more with a clean install of todays Leia Kodi 18 nightly, no addons, just basic settings and the directory listing takes ages :-(

Btw, there is nothing really to tell even from debug logging, no errors or warnings, it just seems to "hang" for a long time while trying to get the directory listing ...

Here is the debug log, trying to enter video source /mnt/sshfs1/SERIES after reboot ... it took over a minute till I got a directory listing.

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/GjJwPzsmBG/

Can anyone help me here or is this a bug/problem with current Leia nightlies?
Split off the Intel VAAPI / ubuntu server thread.
Thread title updated.
Thanks man ...
Does the problem go away if you jump back to an older nightly?  I think the problem I am having might be related to yours - at some point recently, its started taking > 60s just to open my 'TV Shows' library.  If I go back to the main menu, open Movies and then go back to TV, it's another 60s black screen.  I've been trying everything I can think off including:
--
  • Switching from MySQL 5.6 to latest MariaDB
  • Moving MySQL db to a different server