v18 Kodi 18 crashes 2-4 seconds after startup if the network was enabled
Good Evening,

since the early alphas, also today with release candiate Kodi 18 crashes after the initial startup, if the network connection is enabled. It is 100% repeatable.
Last log shows always:

​​​​​​"ES: Exception caught while listening for socket"
Kodi has lost the connection of the event server on port 9777 before always.

Device is an Orbsmart-H1, a German variant of the Eweat R9, running Android 6.0.1 32bit API level 23, Kernel is 4.1.17-*.

https://www.orbsmart.de/produkte/orbsmart-h-01/

This box is a solid Android device, with a RDT 1294 QuadCore CPU.

Kodi 17.6. is running _rock-stable_ on it since 6 months.
Any ideas? I'm a Linux programmer, I think I can help to debug this.

I have also tried a cheap AMLogic S912 box since the earliest alphas of Kodi 18, and even with same network configuration and environment, this crash isn't present.
Only difference is that for the AMLogic S912 box the 64bit variant of Kodi is used, while for the Orbsmart-H1 I have to use the 32bit Android build of Kodi.

Any ideas? It's a strange issue, and the Ewaet R9 boxes are popular and this isn't an exotic piece of hardware... This should be fixed before the release I think...
Running now 17.6 again, have several backups... The issue is also present on a fresh clean installation. After some seconds after the start Kodi 18 crashes.
As said, if I disable Wifi on the box, the crash is gone...
To receive meaningful assistance you will need to provide a full debug log.

The instructions are here... debug log (wiki)

If you are using the Basic Method, then ensure the following is applied...
1.Enable debugging in Settings>System Settings>Logging,
2.Restart Kodi
3.Replicate the problem.
4.Upload the log to Kodi Paste Site manually or use the Kodi Logfile Uploader. (wiki) With either method post the link to the log back here.