Upgrading OLD skin
Hopefully, this will be an easy answer. I've been using Metropolis for a few years and got interested in modding it. I've been making mods to it for two years or so. I'm still running Kodi 15.2 because I don't want to lose the stuff I've done. I'm especially interested in the 64-bit version of Kodi coming with v18 and would like to upgrade at that time. I've tried upgrading before, but the new install always tells me that the skin I use (MetroMod) is not compatible with the new Kodi version. It says that about Metropolis too.

I know enough about skinning to know I don't want to try to recreate all the mods I made again, so is there an "easy" way to keep my skin and still upgrade to Kodi 18?

Here's a screen or two for those who want to see the stuff I've done. A lot of it is cobbled together so I have never had any plans to release it, but here it is:
start by changing the xbmc.gui requirement to 5.14.0 in your addon.xml file

next, go through these threads and update your skin accordingly:
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=231270
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=250862
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=298565

not everything in those threads is mandatory (such as new functionality), but quite a few items are required to make your skin run properly.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support.
Always read the Forum rules, Kodi online-manual, FAQ, Help and Search the forum before posting.
Thanks, ronie! Lots to get through there, but hopefully, it will work. I never thought I'd get emotionally attached to a Kodi skin, lol!
Most of your old skin won't work.

For instance, all of the String. commands were broken in Kodi 18.  If you'd like an idea of how many things across how many files just look to my commits.  113 changed files with 3,722 additions and 2,180 deletions. Those are from 17 to 18.