Need my script to override player keymap
I am a noob resurrecting the Random Trailers script. I want to define my own actions when playing a trailer but I end up competing with the built-in behavior. Sometimes my python Dialog gets the event, sometimes I get it after the skin gets done with it (displaying OSD, for example). Is there a way to have my own skin just for when this addon runs?

The addon has two Dialogs:
  TrailerDialog, a Modal WindowDialog with a text control to optionally display the title while playing video
  TrailerInfoDialog, written as an .xml file and instantiated as a WindowXMLDialog. This dialog is used in place of the normal "Info" dialog.

I have tried various things, including also making TrailerInfoDialog Modal, which sort-of works, but invariably events start being intercepted by what the skin has defined. As an aside, I learned that a WindowXMLDialog's onInit method is not called after a show, but doModal. I was experimenting with keeping only the parent dialog modal to see what happend, but without onInit being run I was stuck.

Surely Youtube, Plex and other addons have figured a way around this.
Looks like Plex went through extraordinary means to address this. In player.py they shadow the Player's state including detecting when OSD and Info is being displayed via xbmc.getCondVisibility('Window.IsActive(videoosd) | Player.ShowInfo') Yuk. But if that is what it takes.... I think I'll try a couple of ideas first, but I'll probably have to end up going Plex's route.

Logout Mark Read Team Forum Stats Members Help
Need my script to override player keymap0