Rabbit like sharring/streaming
Lightbulb 
This is going to be a little hard to explain so please bear with me.

There is a program for OSX called "Peanut Gallery" that allows multiple people to watch a movie together over the web. One person picks the content, sets up a server that other users can connect to as client and once connected they watch the movie together and can communicate via chat / emotes though little shadowy avatars at the bottom of the screen.

http://peanutgallery.kaisakura.com/

While maybe not useful enough to add as "core" feature of XBMC, the idea has a very unapologetic MST3k feel to it and I think that this would be a really cool feature for any media center program. Since the xbox doesn't have a keyboard the whole chat idea might translate better into the linux / windows ports of XBMC, but I thought the idea itself was cool enough to bring up.

I work primarily as a web developer by day, but I have some experience with C# and C++ and would love to contribute to this project if people think this would be a good feature.

Is it possible to get some feedback about the feasibility of this concept by someone who has some experience with the project? Is something like this possible to accomplish as an addon python script to XBMC?
it would probably be accepted. but we'd have to know something about what protocols it uses.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I hadn't really thought of just trying to tie in to the protocol that the Peanut Gallery uses to accomplish this, I meant more of writing / designing our own service that would be just for XBMC.