NPVR 5 and timeshifting
Im new to Next PVR, but finding it good so far.

One question I have is what are the optional settings for using time shifting NPVR5 and Kodi release (18.5)?

I see some talk on extended time shift and also other talk on testing a new pvr add on for 5. What is the best option? At the moment I have settled for extended with 4s pre-buffer. This prevents annoying hangs after start of the stream, but does mean channel changes are slooooow.
For v5 you don't really need any prebuffer time since playback starts pretty quickly so test with 1 or even 0.  If you do find buffering just after the start annoying then you might consider increasing it to see if it helps.

Chunksize is a general PVR feature available in v4 and v5 if you find excessive general buffering try bumping it up.

As for best option for me it was extended time shift but that doesn't exist anymore and I wanted to upgrade to v5 to use linux.  The only reason for that is I like being able to save the buffer so the annoying startup time was worth it.  For general timeshifting v5 is far superior.

Martin
(2020-02-04, 02:39)emveepee Wrote: For v5 you don't really need any prebuffer time since playback starts pretty quickly so test with 1 or even 0.  If you do find buffering just after the start annoying then you might consider increasing it to see if it helps.

Chunksize is a general PVR feature available in v4 and v5 if you find excessive general buffering try bumping it up.

As for best option for me it was extended time shift but that doesn't exist anymore and I wanted to upgrade to v5 to use linux.  The only reason for that is I like being able to save the buffer so the annoying startup time was worth it.  For general timeshifting v5 is far superior.

Martin

Thanks.

On Android I only have prebuffer when choosing extended time shift, on OSMC it’s available to all options [emoji2275]