From Intel NUC to Nvidia Shield, any advantages?
Hi,

I have been running Intel NUC´s with Windows in our home for many years now and it have been working Ok. The only complain is that they is a bit loud from time to time.

In our main media room we got a Intel NUC D54250WYKH with 4 GB ram and SSD and this unit is now generating a annoying sound. I have opened it up and cleaned it with the help of compressor but its still a bit loud, maybe its how its always been or it is a bit worn. Now I'm thinking of swapping it for a Nvidia Shield Pro 16 GB but I'm not sure it will be any better?

My Kodi setup consists of 2 Intel NUC connected to a MySQL database on a server where all media is placed. Kodi is running in portable mode to make it easier to update and make changes(set it up kodi files on main computer and then overwrite Kodi folder on Intel Nucs).

We are using Kodi, Disney+, Netflix, Youtube and streaming(Browser) from a couple of random websites.

The main media room have a LG OLED 4K with HDR, the 4K och HDR is unfortunately not used more then for some media on Netflix and Disney+. Im not sure that the current Intel NUC would be able to handle 4K and HDR?

So, Is there any advantages for me to switch to a Nvidia Shield Pro? Will it be easier to run 4K och HDR? Will the updates be easier or at least as easy? And how about noise from the unit? Or should I just stick with the Intel NUC?

Regards
(2020-10-26, 11:07)snowjim Wrote: Hi,

I have been running Intel NUC´s with Windows in our home for many years now and it have been working Ok. The only complain is that they is a bit loud from time to time.

In our main media room we got a Intel NUC D54250WYKH with 4 GB ram and SSD and this unit is now generating a annoying sound. I have opened it up and cleaned it with the help of compressor but its still a bit loud, maybe its how its always been or it is a bit worn. Now I'm thinking of swapping it for a Nvidia Shield Pro 16 GB but I'm not sure it will be any better?