On Startup No Sound for Music - But Videos Have Sound
I have been using Kodi for several years now, for the most part with no problems.  I have Kodi 18.9 on a dedicated Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64 bit pc.  A few weeks ago, I noticed an intermittent problem where when I started Kodi if I tried to play music there would be no sound.  You can go from album to album, song to song, doesn't matter which you choose, there is no sound.  But if I switch and play a video, then there is sound.  Further, after I play a video, I can then go back and play music and there is sound.  So a summary of the problem is that, on startup, there is no sound playing music.  The sound works for videos, and it will work for music if you play a video first, but I can't start it and play music before I play a video and still have sound.

At first I thought this might be a hardware problem.  But since Kodi video sound is fine, and it is only Kodi music sound that has a problem, I concluded this might be a Kodi issue.

As I said, the problem is intermittent, so it took me a while before I could capture a debug log.  But I was finally able to capture the problem in a log.

The debug is posted here geqomovuti (paste)

In the session captured by the log, I started off playing music, and there was no sound, but then I played a video and the sound came on.

One final note, this problem might be more likely to occur after Kodi has been turned off for an extended period of time.  I am not sure however.  This is just an impression formed based on what has happened.  Again, since the problem has been intermittent I can't really study it.
Hmmm, log doesn't show any errors as far as I can see so my initial guess would be that it's pulseaudio related.  What happens if you start Kodi from a terminal and suspend pulse first?
pasuspender -- env KODI_AE_SINK=ALSA kodi  Do you get audio then ? (You will have to revisit your audio settings and select the correct output).
Learning Linux the hard way !!