Linux Missing Puzzle Piece for 10-bit HEVC support on Linux with Nvidia?
I'm new to this, but I know people have been trying for a long time to play 10-bit HEVC video on Linux with Nvidia.

I have Kodi 18.9 installed on Ubuntu 20.04 with a GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER.

From what I know, Nvidia has finally implemented 10-bit HEVC support in vdpau as evidenced by vdpauinfo on my setup:

HEVC_MAIN                      153 262144  8192  8192
HEVC_MAIN_10                   153 262144  8192  8192
HEVC_MAIN_STILL                --- not supported ---
HEVC_MAIN_12                   153 262144  8192  8192
HEVC_MAIN_444                  153 262144  8192  8192

vainfo does not show any support for 10-bit HEVC or HVEC at all, but that's not surprising since my motherboard dates to 2009.

I know that vdpau 1.4 now supports 10-bit HEVC (https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/vdpau/lib...leases/1.4) and even ffmpeg supports hardware accelerated 10-bit HEVC playback (https://developer.nvidia.com/FFmpeg

I'm still seeing ff-hevc (SW) on playback.  I would expect to see ff-hevc-vdpau (HW) if it was working, correct?

So what is that last piece of the puzzle for me to enable hardware accelerated playback of 10-bit HEVC on Kodi?

I'm going out of my mind trying to find a solution for this.

Thank you in advance for any information.

Beny
No 10 bit GLX Interop -> won't work with kodi. In normal words: you can decode it, but not zero copy render it with the GLX implementation.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.
Thank you @fritsch.  This is the kind of information I'm asking about.

So in the context of Ubuntu, what package/software needs to implement 10 bit GLX Interop.  OpenGL, correct?

And if this support would hypothetically become reality, would 10-bit HEVC HW playback just start working with Kodi 18.9?  Or will Kodi then *also* need to be updated to support it?