Adding an FTP network location segfaults XBMC
I've been already using XBMC for quite some time now in the Xbox. As a friend of mine also wants to run XBMC but doesn't own an Xbox, I installed it on my Ubuntu machine here to test whether different platforms work well too. I mainly wanted to test whether adding network locations works ok, but within 5 minutes I stumbled onto a segfault-bug. I tried to connect to a password-protected FTP-network server but it crashed XBMC right after pressing "OK" in the "Add network location"-dialog. It is reproducable everytime so I guess FTP network support is completely broken.....

ps. I also noticed that the stuttering of scrollers (like the RSS feed) seen on Xbox also exists on Linux :-(
i just tried my own ftp server - no issues. you need to provide more details
spiff Wrote:i just tried my own ftp server - no issues. you need to provide more details

I am not that familiar with XBMC on Linux yet (although do note I have been a Linux administrator/user for many years now). How can I ie. enable debug logging on Linux and where is the log stored, so I can provide some more info?
Reproducing the issue for me is as simple as this:
- Ubuntu 8.04.1 x86 (Hardy)
- I start XBMC
- In "Video" or "file manager" I say "Add source";
- Select "browse";
- Select "add network connection";
- Select Protocol "FTP";
- Server: myhost.org (it fails with any name);
- Shared folder: <empty>;
- Username: "x-arnova"
- Select "OK"
And voila I get:
(2 ~)% xbmc ret:139 sigConfusedegv (arnova@galactica)
StdString: Assertion Failed on line 916
StdString: Assertion Failed on line 917
[1] 6323 segmentation fault (core dumped) xbmc

(2 ~)% ret:139 sigConfusedegv (arnova@galactica)

Another odd thing I noticed is that when adding *any* new source (even local drives) succesfully, the next time you start XBMC, he seem to have forgot them again. Or am I missing something here (ie. is the behaviour of the Linux version somehow different from the Xbox version?).