Required Steps Before Viewing Live TV On Laptop
Hi there 🙂

Before getting started with Kodi...

I've got tv service (a set top box) and internet through an isp and would like to view live tv on my laptop.

I'm new to using a tuner card and/or dongle setup and hope someone's willing to cover some beginner questions. 😇

1) In terms of which type of device...

https://kodi.wiki/view/PVR/Tuner_cards

...is recommended for this purpose, can anyone advise on the ideal one of those three?

2) Since it's for use with a laptop (and a lay end-user should probably not be messing with the insides), should I skip the "Internal Card" option?

3) What is meant by, "For a proper Live TV and PVR experience the computer you install it on will need to run continuously"?

-> In other words, I'd just like to be able to access the live feeds whenever and eventually shut down the computer whenever - is that not how it would work?

4) Do hdmi cables come into play at any point or is this process only done with coax cables? I like that hdmi's are less bulky and easier to plug in than coaxials but there's only one hdmi slot available on the laptop and it's being used for an external monitor.

----------

Apparently the isp's local store can provide equipment free of charge, such as an extra long hdmi cable and possibly the necessary tv tuner stuff (wasn't able to get the specifics but I'll find out Monday).

In the meantime, any guidance/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
(2022-02-20, 22:25)DubTime Wrote: 2) Since it's for use with a laptop (and a lay end-user should probably not be messing with the insides), should I skip the "Internal Card" option?
I don't think an internal tuner card is an option for a laptop. It would not fit. The dongle is a one off cost, the network attached device is more expensive, and some may need monthly subscription to unlock all its features.