v19 Show movie title in Latin alphabet when "Keep Original Titles" is selected
Hi all,

I've been enjoying Kodi for a couple of years now, but lately this has been bugging me.
When a movie library is set to "Keep Original Titles" and the movie's original title is in non-Latin alphabet, it will stick to that alphabet and not convert to Latin.

Let's take as an example movie Spirited Away (2001). Original title according to TMDB: 千と千尋の神隠し. Kodi can't display these symbols for me, so after scraping the movie details, it will show as: ▯▯▯▯▯▯▯▯. However what I would like to see as title is: Sen to Chihiro no kamikakushi, being the original title translated into Latin alphabet.

Any way this can be done? Or is this being worked on?

Thanks,
Piddox
Is your Kodi GUI font already set to Arial? It should contain more font sets than the default font.
(2022-07-31, 12:31)Klojum Wrote: Is your Kodi GUI font already set to Arial? It should contain more font sets than the default font.

I don't see Arial as an option for Fonts (or maybe it's already the default Font, not sure). But changing the font won't help right? Then the squares will be replaced by Japanese characters, which I can't read either. Basically the required information (original title in Latin characters) is missing on TMDB.
Short answer is that Kodi is not a translator. It cannot translate text for you.
It only displays what is scraped at the scraper site.

You either have to...
1. Edit the title manually, either using nfo files or using Context Menu>Manage>Edit title, or
2. Check TMDB and see if the title you want is available as another language, and change the scraper language to suit.

My Signature
Links to : Official:Forum rules (wiki) | Official:Forum rules/Banned add-ons (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki)