[LINUX] GPU Assisted Video Decoding in XBMC for Linux?
I'm a noob. Sorry if this is the wrong forum.

Curious if you guys have gpu acceleration implemented on any builds of XBMC? Linux or windows.

I know Media Portal has it. I just tried it out and I'm really impressed with the GPU implementation. It's f-ing amazing, especially with HD content and on the fly deinterlacing via ATI's drivers. I don't think i can go back to vanilla XBMC til they implement the GPU. Why have the video card there if you're not going to use it?
Sorry not yet, if you look in the linux development forums you'll see Rudd is working on it but we have no specific ETA yet, GPU acceleration isn't easy especially cross-platform, which isn't a concern mediaportal has to worry about.
plus they dont have to worry about implementing it either, they just pass everything on to the os to handle....
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=GSoC_-_GPU_A...o_Decoding
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=33802
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Hardware_Acc...o_Decoding

You have to remember that most GPU Accelerated Video Decoding methods are platform-dependent on both the API and the manufacturers device driver (like for example DxVA which is only available in Microsoft Windows XP/Vista and requires that the GPU hardware manufacturer provide a graphics device driver which specifically support the DxVA API).

Currently there is only one cross-platform API standard available, that is called VA API (Video Acceleration API) and that is still in such early development that no manufacturer provide graphics device drivers which support it yet. The only other GPU Video Acceleration API available for Linux is XvMC and that only supports MPEG-2 video decoding.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.