Adding support for another remote by using existing lirc files
Hi,
I have just installed XBMC Live on a dedicated computer. I have a Digimatrix remote control (ASUS XPC-RC01 Control) connected and to my supprise some of the remote buttons worked by default. I found that the proper lirc file for my remote is /usr/share/lirc/remotes/asus/lircd.conf.digimatrix.

Is there any way to change xbmc to use that lirc file instead of the default one? I tried to change /etc/lirc/lircd.conf but I didn't have enough permission to change it. I had the same result with hardware.conf

Ideas anyone?

Thanks! Smile
sudo cp will work...
l.capriotti Wrote:sudo cp will work...

Okay, tanks! I'm a newbie on Linux though so it would be great if someone cared to write the steps and command lines needed to get the Digimatrix remote working.

Thanks Smile
Pexter Wrote:Okay, tanks! I'm a newbie on Linux though so it would be great if someone cared to write the steps and command lines needed to get the Digimatrix remote working.

Thanks Smile

while in xbmc hit ALT+CTRL 1
this will take you to a terminal, where you need to login first.
so before you do anything else, enter your user name: xbmc
and password: xbmc [hit enter]

now that you are logged in you need to copy the file you said you found into the location that xbmc/lirc looks for it.

In linux to run commands as the "Administrator" you need to put a "sudo" (SuperUserDo) infront of the line. So first lets create a backup copy of the original file before we replace it, type this:
sudo mv /etc/lirc/lircd.conf /etc/lirc/lircd.conf.bak
what the above line actually does is assume admin rights while renaming the file from lircd.conf to lircd.conf.bak

Then to copy the file you type this:
sudo cp /usr/share/lirc/remotes/asus/lircd.conf.digimatrix /etc/lirc/lircd.conf
crackerbox Wrote:while in xbmc hit ALT+CTRL 1.......

Thanks a lot! I guess some changes are also needed in the hardware.conf file before it will work?