Which resolution is better for PC: 720/768/1080?
Hi, i'm planning to buy a 30"-40" HD TV for my pc to use with xbmc. I won't use it for programs, only multi-media and games. Nod

I have read a lot about HD TV but I'm still very confused about the resolutions available. Confused

768p
I really like to play pc games and emulators. 1024x768 looks logical for pc games which is 4:3.

720p
Most of the video content that I watch are dvd rips and HD rips and a lot of SD music videos, tv shows and documentaries. 1280x720 is standard HD 16:9, so I think this would be the best choice.

And to be honest I don't really see any difference between 1080p and 720p, maybe my eyes are not so good Huh

Which resolution do you recommend for games and movies; 768p or 720p? Rolleyes

thanks in advance, and yes I'm a noob with television...
i never seen a 4:3 hdtv so your best choice would be 720P you do notice a difference for 1080P but only on bigger screens.
EMK0, there are certainly 4:3 HDTVs. They're typically CRTs but they exist (or at least they did). They were fantastic too as it displayed 4:3 content wonderfully but also made widescreen footage look great.

Anyway, Ravenscar, I wouldn't really recommend a 1080p television, especially at that screen size. The price difference you will pay I promise will make no difference. However, if you were indeed going to use your TV for programs and web browsing, I'd definitely go with 1080p. The first thing I ask someone when they ask me if they should get a 1080p television is if they will use their PC on it. If they say no I almost never recommend it.

I bought a 1080p TV because with my PC on my TV I do web browsing, game playing, all that stuff. But I wouldn't see it as necessary for video viewing and 3-d game playing. It's really just very good for reading text from a PC. But since you're just doing media stuff I wouldn't sweat it.
Thanks DaddyLL, but I'm still not sure which one is better Confused