[LINUX] Lightweight Window Manager alternatives?
Hi all,

I'm in the process of customizing my setup and working out some kinks but one thing that has been top of my list is improving my boot times. Obviously going along of XBMCBuntu would be best but I am using MythTV along with MythBox (eventually anyway) and would like full functionality desktop environment to fall back to for debugging, addition of new features if the need arises.

Now I am fairly new to Linux in general so I was wondering what alternatives to KDE or GNOME people may be using or would recommend to help in this goal?

Would say using a lighter weight manager cripple anything with XBMC or MythTV? What kind of mileage can I expect from say XFCE or the like?

I am posting about this over on the Ubuntu forums but I thought maybe putting it here would serve a good purpose as the main question I have is obviously its potential draw backs to XBMC!

Any suggestions, information and general advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

EDIT: I seem to remember a more drastic solution involving stopping X from running at all until XBMC was launched. I thought I bookmarked it but I cannot for the life of me find it! Anyone know where it could be?
i used the ubuntu netbook distro. So that I can control my HDTV using a WII controller (for a mouse). and then the usual harmony remote for XBMC.

the netbook remix works great for the HDTV everything is just a few clicks away and is nicely organized.
I use fluxbox. It is light weight. I install a command line system (alt install I think its called), then install fluxbox. With as few steps you can get it to auto login.
I'm trying to avoid having to rebuild my system so a new distro is out of the question - though if I have to rebuild for some reason I'll look into it then.

I'll start looking round at fluxbox as it has been recommended on the Ubuntu forums as well. Hopefully it's not too much messing about!