~90% Segfault on startup (Gentoo, any of xbmc-9.04.1, SVN linuxport, SVN pvr-testing)
Hi there,

I'm new to XBMC, but got some experience with Gentoo linux, which I'm running for years on my HTPC, and now, after upgrading my hardware platform and hearing about the possibility to have the best of both VDR and XBMC, I'm giving XBMC a try. XbmcLive-9.04.1 runs just fine booted from CD or from the USB hdd where I manually unsquashed it, but my goal is to have it running on Gentoo, first just as it is, then in combination with VDR. I'm trying to follow as close as possible the HOW-TO post about a problem in a useful manner, and provide the details of my problem:

Since there is no official ebuild for 9.04.1 or the pvr-testing branch yet, I adapted the latest ebuild, and compiled, but any of the versions (so 9.04.1 too) has the very same problem, they segfault at startup, and after many, many retries, XBMC eventually starts, then I could even make them play MP3 (but hear no menu sounds), only to make them crash again when trying to play video...

My hardware setup is as follows:
  • HTPC consists of MB: Asus M3N78-EM (with GeForce8300 IGP using 512MB of the 2GB system RAM), CPU: Athlon X2 5050E;
  • HDMI hooked to Full HD LCD-TV;
  • coaxial SPDIF hooked to external decoder/amp, since I could not convince the TV to passthrough the sound it gets via HDMI to the external amp.

Software setup:
I'm running just a i686 Gentoo-2008.0 architecture for now (not AMD64 yet), yet accepting "~x86" keywords globally (Gentoo folks know that means bleeding edge versions of everything, whith all the risks involved):
  • 2.6.30 kernel, SMP;
  • alsa-lib-1.0.20, compiled with DEBUG symbols;