ASRock Nettop ION 330
Question 
Hello everone.

Bear with me, I'm new here. So I hope I post this in the right forum. If not, maybe a moderator can be nice to move this thread. Smile

Okay. I just got my new htpc. I know nothing about Linux or XBMC. What to do? I just wanna play my hd-movies and maybe watch some pictures. Is the XBMC Live all I need? I'm not an expert user, and I don't need all the fancy functions as long as the before mentioned stuff works.

I found this guide:
[LINUX] HOW-TO make a standard Ubuntu installation into 'XBMCbuntu' set-top-box style

But this seems to be for experienced users. And since I'm a total newbie I hope there must be a more simple guide somewhere out there.

So - what to do? Please help.
Thanks in advance.Smile
You should definately try xbmc live then, it will setup your htpc to autoboot xbmc and hopefully you will not have to bother with anything linux related at all Smile
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
The other official guide is a little bit more simple.
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_insta...ep-by-step

However, to play HD on that box you need VDPAU and to get that you need to upgrade the graphical drivers so it will not be completly out of the box for the moment.
EDIT: It will not work with HD on Live out of box either.

This is my guide for the nettop ION 330.
http://www.xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54705
It is step by step but it requires you to copy/paste the commands into the terminal.

an idea could be to skip HD to start with and just getting it to run in the desktop with the offical guide above. You can then continue with my guide later,
Selma: I strongly suggest to invest that little time into learning a bit of linux.