Can't see plugins (via add source)
Thumbs Up 
Sorry to trouble the reader with this, but I must emphasise this is NOT a case of me not reading the wiki guides and so forth. Although I may have misunderstood them.

I am running Ubuntu Jaunty, latest version of XBMC as of 29/08/09. i686 Architecture. Install method was the recommended format with PPA's I believe. You'll forgive my uncertainty as I have installed lots of stuff on my new machine and it's all very alien as I am also an Ubuntu noob.

I have set up plugin folders /usr/share/xbmc/plugins/video and /usr/share/xbmc/plugins/programs. When I follow the conventional wisdom there is absolutely no sign of "Video Plugins" as I am informed there will be. The plugin is present and correct within the folder, for example I have iplayer and game trailers. Both have the necessary default.pny in order to register.

My skin is Aero. I have also attempted to browse to them under PM3, with no joy. It makes me sad because I am otherwise in love with XBMC, it's pretty as hell and dead powerful but knowing that I could be enjoying iplayer through it is very upsetting.

My apologies if I have missed something profoundly obvious but I have read the wiki, watched the youtube vids and searched the forum to no avail. Please help!!!Blush
I guess you missed this part of the wiki?
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_insta...irectories
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please read how to submit a proper bug report.

If you're interested in writing addons for xbmc, read docs and how-to for plugins and scripts ||| http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons/
No, I have read that part so many times I know it off by heart! The plugins were located as described above, which I took to be the guidance of that wiki.