Apple TV XBMC VOB Question
Hello all, I'm very new to all this. I've got a PC and have tried 6 or so programs to convert my DVDs to a high quality h264 and have yet to come up with one that works well. My typical issue is video/audio sync. What I would greatly like to do is simpy rip my DVDs to a single VOB file and play that on my ATV. Is this possible by using XBMC, do I still have cover art and all the other cool stuff that comes along like a description of the movie, actors, director, poducer, rating, ect...?

Just curious, if it can play a single VOB file why would anyone want to convert it to something like an MP4 and AVI? What is the benefit, other than size which you can rip a DVD to a smaller VOB file?

Thanks.
you can also put the whole dvd into an iso package and xbmc will read it for you like a normal dvd.

Thats what im using. With ember media manager you can get media-info from the dvd too (codec-info etc.). the actors producer rating etc comes only from the moviename if you let xbmc scraoe that.

Thats my way of doing it, i think quality is more important then size Big Grin
Riderzzz Wrote:you can also put the whole dvd into an iso package and xbmc will read it for you like a normal dvd.

Thats what im using. With ember media manager you can get media-info from the dvd too (codec-info etc.). the actors producer rating etc comes only from the moviename if you let xbmc scraoe that.

Thats my way of doing it, i think quality is more important then size Big Grin

That is great to hear. I downloaded and attempted to use ember media manager. I have a movie in ISO format and ember doesn't seem to read it. Also, I couldn't find any good instructions on how to actually use the software. I'm not an idiot but I tell you I feel like one with ember.

Thanks for any more advice you have.