SimplyGreen
i can build graphics just fine but i'm not a xml guy so my learning curve would be huge to make a few changes.

i was thinking that it would be cool to see the main menu choices on the main screen.
i like your animations so i'd love if they incorporated something where the menu items seem to "scroll" up and down in a circle pattern (going to the right).
the unchosen options could be faded a bit so to still maintain the integrity of the skin.

then maybe hiding the other, less used items like settings, scripts, reboot, and shutdown.

also, i seem to have a problem where the reboot and shutdown does not work. is there a special button combo to get them to work?

thanks for the great skin!
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
the reboot and shut down buttons work for me (xbmc 1.1)

thanks for your suggestions, my ideas for simplygreen 2.0 so far:

if the skin-system-upgrade will progress well (tnx jmarshall), i think it can be done.

what do you think of these concepts?

edit: maybe imagine some sort of background-video (between the two white lines)?
bob,
i definitely like the basic layout and concept:

i love...
the 'current info' and scrreenshot/cover/etc in the upper right!
the bouncing text on the menu... this rocks!

suggestions:

you could squeze a bit more screen real estate by removing the horizontal whilte lines and moving the "header" and the "footer" more towards the top and bottom of the screen. this would allow a few more lines in the center.

i'm not a huge fan of the boxes around the games/movies/etc images. i just think it is too many squares Wink

here's what i was thinking...

the menu items should be a more and more faded as they get smaller too... gives the perception of distance and a curve in the menu

what do you think?
that menu is not possible with the new buttonscroller system.

better imo to leave everything the same size and use alpha to fade out the ones that aren't currently selected.