music library multiple artists seperator
Hello all,

I'm new to XBMC and having some difficulties with the setting of the multiple artist separator field.

I've created an Advancedsettings.xml file within my userdata directory; the contents of the file are exactly as follows:
[INDENT]
Code:
<advancedsettings>
  <musiclibrary>
     <itemseparator>;</itemseparator>  
  </musiclibrary>
</advancedsettings>
[/INDENT]I've tried nuking my entire musicDB and rescanning everything in a few times.
Is the rescan necessary?
Are there any whitespaces required in the <itemseperator> field?
Do I need to also include the other <musiclibrary> tags in this file?
Anything else that I'm missing?

I've double checked the log files and its definitely picking up the settings during the initilization...

Many thanks ahead of time,
Belg
That should be all you need. Note that it assumes that all you have is a semicolon - check you don't have whitespace around it in your tags.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

jmarshall Wrote:That should be all you need. Note that it assumes that all you have is a semicolon - check you don't have whitespace around it in your tags.

I tired " ; " "; " and ";" They all don't seem to want to split up the multiple artists for various albums.
MediaMonkey (which I'm using to do all of the tagging) is adding in a whitespace after the ";". Any other MM users out there ran across or have a fix for this issue that I'm seeing?

How about an alternative, is there a way to specify which tag XBMC should be using <Album Artist> vs <Artist> Most of my collection are not compilations therefore <artist> would be more applicable to me.
Have you checked inside the files themselves? It could be that what media monkey displays may not match what is actually in the files.