Linux vs Live, need to decide, please help.
Exclamation 
Alright well I just have an itch to get the latest nightly builds on my Revo 3610, problem is as we all know there is no "official" live release yet, only a release made by Freak iirc.

The reason I want to use one of the latest ones is because I have fallen in-love with the Night skin on my windows PC and would very much love to use it on my Revo. So someone recommended I should install Ubuntu and run XBMC over that. I have a few questions before I make a leap like that as I have no experience with linux what so ever.

Would running XBMC over ubuntu on an Acer Revo provide a performance decrease in comparison to running XBMC on live? To the point where skins would get a little more laggy and full HD videos won't play as silky smooth?

Would I have to do extra work to get linux to output through HDMI, and to output sound through optical or does it recognize those things automatically?

Finally what about nvidia ion acceleration? Do I have to download extra stuff to get that working properly with XBMC under linux?

And finally I have my videos on my Drobo Fs, would it automatically be able to find it like it does on Live with it running ontop of ubuntu?
go the XBMCbuntu route, the wiki article is excellent
OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sony 55" X85C Android TV (also with Kodi!)
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
Kodi on Sony Bravia Android TVs
Hannes The Hun Wrote:go the XBMCbuntu route, the wiki article is excellent

What about my questions regarding optical, hardware acceleration etc, will that all be automatically detected like with live?
Edit: Looked over the guide, how would this enable me to install the latest version of XBMC? the Dharma builds? Also the guide doesn't mention anything about optical out.