NVidia driver problems on Live on old laptop
Hi all,

I've been using XBMC on xbox for years but since it's got flakey lately I'm swapping to Live on an old laptop.

After installing live to HD I got a login prompt and the screen jumped every few seconds as if it was trying to start xserver (forgive me if my terminology is wrong, I'm relatively new to linux). Assuming a video driver issue I downloaded the driver for my card (GeForce4 440 Go) from Nvidia and installed it from a terminal and rebooted.

Now it all works fine except in slow motion. The GFX update is cripplingly slow. I get a 1 frame update every 5 seconds or so. Everything is functional but it's obviously unusable. I can also only get 640x480 and 320x240 resolutions, I'm guessing due to an unobtainable EDID.

I've scoured the internet for solutions and come up with nothing. I've modified my xorg.conf to include various options for NVIDIA and I've looked through my Xorg.0.log file and everything seems fine (apart from the EDID issue). The Xorg.0.log shows the 3d and 2d acceleration initializing with no errors and I can't see anything else wrong in here.

Of course I could be barking up the wrong tree and it may not be anything to do with the nvidia driver!

Does anyone have any pointers for me? I'm completely stumped and I've spent all day on this instead of working Blush

Thanks in advance,
Max
I'm no expert on this at all, but my guess is that the card is just too old (8 years old) to run the interface smoothly. It's all openGL-based if I recall. Frankly, I don't think XBMC is the type of thing to run on old hardware. If you have a relatively new video card, most other hardware can be low-powered and still get the job done very nicely, but the video card is the main thing that makes XBMC worth using.