Comments and issues (Tab, Wi-Fi, remote buttons, broadcast)
I'm new to both XBMC and XBMC Android remote. After a weekend of use, I have some (perhaps even useful) comments.

Galaxy Tab: Resolution
I'm using a Galaxy Tab with 1024x600 resolution. The app itself mostly works great, just a full resolution skin for this device is missing for the "use as remote" feature.

Wi-Fi
I connect using Wi-Fi, and use a power saver. This results in the Wi-Fi being connected whenever I turn the screen on, and disconnected when I turn the screen off.

This causes the (a) that annoying "no connection" popup and (b) manually having to reconnect.

It would be great if an option could be added to NOT show the popup that XBMC Remote does not have a connection, and to automatically reconnect when a Wi-Fi network becomes available.

Buttons
(1) I know, volume up and down can be done with the hardware buttons. However, the volume buttons are inconveniently placed for left-handed usage, and as well as changing the volume of XBMC, they also occasionally change the volume on the device itself.

I would very much like volume controls in the remote.

(2) "audio" and "subtitle" buttons, that cycle through the available audio languages and subtitle languages (and "no subtitles"). It is a drag having to do this manually, and I need to do this for virtually every movie I watch.

(3) Seek bar, it would be great to have the seek bar (like we have in "now playing") in the remote mode.

Broadcast
In all my locations I use dynamic addressing for the PC's running XBMC. Instead of having to enter the host IP manually (and changing it repeatedly, hehe) could there be some form of detection / auto-discover / broadcasting ?

Me me me
I'm also an Android developer, by the way, I could possibly help out here and there, but my knowledge of XBMC itself is... tiny.
chainfire Wrote:I'm new to both XBMC and XBMC Android remote. After a weekend of use, I have some (perhaps even useful) comments.