I'm going round in circles!
Looking for a bit of advice please - I'm guessing this will be just another 'which hardware' thread though so sorry in advance.

Having decided to get some sort of media center set up in my lounge, I was initially looking at something like a WDTV live to stream all my media from a NAS, then I moved on to thinking about a MacMini with Plex and now, after trying out XBMC on my laptop - I've pretty much decided on this route.

Thing is - which hardware - I don't need the box for any other task other then XBMC - it will all be connected through my AV amp by HDMI. Have looked at the Acer Aspire Revo (did have one of these before), then I see people talking of the Zotac Barebones systems and adding the SSD looks attractive, now the Foxconn Netbox also looks tempting. I'm no computer expert and have no knowledge of Linux, although I did have XBMCLive on my Revo before.

Is there one box that stands out around the £200 mark or are the barebones systems pretty similar?

Thanks in advance.
Welcome to my world as I can not decide either..... cheers!
WhiteHartMart Wrote:Is there one box that stands out around the £200 mark or are the barebones systems pretty similar?

Thanks in advance.

As a Foxconn 330i owner, I would say they all have similar specs, but nettops will vary with noise, BIOs options, and how much time you'll spend tweaking settings. The Revo is one of the mainstream boxes used for XBMC. There's quite a bit of documentation for Linux newbies, and most features work out of the box if you use Live or OpenElec. I wouldn't rush to buy anything new if you still have it.

My Foxconn for example has an inferior BIOS which only allows 256mb of memory dedicated for the GPU. The Revo's BIOS lets you utilize twice as much. My videos play fine, so it's not that big of a deal. It is also a pain to get wireless to work on the Foxconn.