Crazy Newbie has Questions...
I'm a xbmc newbie that has become so excited by this system, I've jumped in with both feet since discovering it in mid-December. This is an amazing system and look forward to being part of this great community. I've read many, many threads in the forum.

I've spent far too much time trying to optimize my system and now I ask for help. I'm having trouble with xbmc display of movies. I have several other questions that would help me streamline or automate my system. Please excuse the long posting as I am new to xbmc and don't know what I'm doing is incorrect, silly or crazy and could use the advice of more experienced users. Seems a description of my network and systems would be helpful.

Background:

I was looking for a replacement for a dying TiVo series 2 that we use for watching downloaded content as well as recorded and time-shifted television. In order to make the spouse-unit happy, it has to be attractive, cost-effective and quiet. The AppleTV running xbmc got the WAF approval for the bedroom when even a TiVo in a closed armoire did not (too noisy). She loves she can now stream foreign films from Netflix. It clearly is a better system for downloaded content although it won't easily replace the TiVo for recording television, especially time-shifting sports (Way-to-go Giants!). I really like that the Apple TV units will work now with out SD TVs and still work when we upgrade to HDTV all throughout the house, if ever.

My Installation:

Media Server (name: Marichal)
Windows Home Server with 1.3 OS software
HP 470 w/2GB RAM and 6.5TB HD internal, 2TB external HD
All the xbmc installations connect to this media server
Media Library (on the network at "\\Marichal\Videos\"):
100+ movies
40+ TV shows
(planned) Personal recordings converted to digital (family events, old how-to VHS tapes)

VM Server (name: Lincecum)
W7 Ultimate, 64-bit, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD
runs 2 VM (Virtualbox) machines
and these apps on the host
EventGhost
TheRenamer