[BUG] Slow Chinese subtitle rendering
Currently working on fixing the chinese subtitle stuttering problem. Since this is my first time working on the source code, I figured it might be a good idea to start a thread, just to make sure I'm not making bad assumptions/breaking stuff/engaging in general retardedness.

I've done a quick profiling of the code with instruments, with subtitles displaying -

The spikes in the graph occur whenever subtitles are rendered, spiking the CPU at 100%, from a baseline of about 20%( this is with SD content ). All of the extra CPU usage is coming solely from rendering the subtitles.

Comparing it against just rendering english subtitles, I can see that they use more or less the same code path, with the same functions eating up most of the time. However, with english, even though I'm seeing spikes here and there, it is nowhere near as bad as with chinese.

From what I'm seeing in the profiler, it looks like there is a lot of GL related memcpying going on, which is taking a large percentage of the time. So I'll think I will investigate there first.
Reason is simple: Chinese == lots + lots of characters, thus you need either a huge-arse texture to keep 'em all cached, or you're constantly clearing + recaching them. You'll see things like "out of memory caching character <foo>" in the debug log - see the code in CacheCharacter.

I suggest move to a vector of textures. Patch most welcome Smile

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.