Programs - GUIWindowPrograms
so.. i've taken a first stab at helping out with xbmc and basically, i feel as though to be able to use xbmc as a dashboard, the loading/display of the programs needed to be faster when large directories were involved.

xbmp had the option of flatten directory as well as only showing default apps. xbmc does not yet have that and i took the liberty of adding some code to take this into account.

but, this is my first time trying xbox programming, so i am not sure how good my code is.

anyhow, what i did was add an option to only display default.xbe when displaying the bookmarks. as well, i have added added the flatten hierarchy that was there in xbmp.

in loaddirectory i also added some code such that if you are flattening the directory, it will first look for xbe before recursing into subdirectories. the code in loaddirectory will obviously recursively call itself to look into subdirectories. so, when testing, it all looks fairly good and a lot faster than it was with xbmp. it would normally take about 5 minutes to load my games directory (about 15 games) because some games had over 1000 files and things like that.

anyhow, enough babbling. off to the real point here...

i've noticed that it is possible to brows up to a directory prior to what is defined in the bookmarks. now, i want to add some checks such that ".." would be ignored and not displayed if the current directory is one of the bookmarks. is that a safe assumption to make? (obviously, if flatten directory is set, ".." would not be displayed at all).

also, my changes have been made so that if default applications is used, then scan will only create shortcuts for default.xbe.

also, it seems that when going to the shortcuts menu option, going to ".." will show you the xbmc root directory.. i can probably take a look into that as well.

anyhow, is there a way i should or could show somebody the code i did so that i can get some feedback?

thanks a lot,

ts